PDA

View Full Version : Lets talk about shoes - road vs mountain

jambee
06-03-2015, 07:51 AM
I have always been riding mixed terrains and have been happy with relatively wide tires. Up until recently, my skinniest tire was 33.33 mm.

I'm now building my first road bike. It's got 26 mm tires.

This made me think about shoes. Since I like to walk around in the trails I ride, I always use Sidi mountain bike shoes.

The question is - are there any benefits in wearing road shoes? I have no experience and always see that roadies have a hard time walking around where I tend to ride....

Opinions?

ANAO
06-03-2015, 07:53 AM
They're stiffer and look dorkier.

Gummee
06-03-2015, 07:56 AM
IME I'm good with either up to a point. Then the mtn pedals and shoes start giving me hot spots.

It happens less with the really stiff soles of the upper end of the mtn shoe range. M315, Lake M331CX, etc

Edited to add: if you get hot spots too, you may try the new Speedplay pedals. Cleats look bigger.

M

jambee
06-03-2015, 08:04 AM
I have been riding Brevets in my SIDI mountain bikes for a few years and have had no real pains.

I was thinking that the power transfer could be more efficient when riding road shoes, but that could also be improved by finding harder MTB shoes and wider cleats (i.e not the egg beaters I have on all my bikes).

jamesutiopia
06-03-2015, 08:10 AM
IMO, carbon footbeds have effectively eliminated the need for 3 and 4 bolt cleats-- in the past, the big interface of traditional road cleats reduced incidence of "hot foot". People seem pretty set in their shoe/cleat/pedal selection, so I imagine several generations of road riders would not know that 2 bolt cleats/shoes are viable on the road...