PDA

View Full Version : OT: macro camera lens and help

Dave B
05-27-2015, 05:18 PM
I know many of you know loads about cameras as well as photography. I have a cannon rebel eos t3 and it doesn't decent job for the family. I am interested in taking up close photos of stuff and have read a macro lens is what I am looking for.

When I search I get macro lens for the eos t3i and am curious if they fit the t3. Additionally what is a decent lens that isn't going to break the bank? Anything decent under $200? I am not a professional, but wanted to do some stuff with finger print pictures for my students.

Any guidance or if anyone has one to sell would be great.

Thanks folks

ergott
05-27-2015, 06:49 PM
Price is a bit more, but the Canon Ef-S 60mm macro is a top rated lens. Does 1:1 macro and image quality is superb. Another option is the 50mm 2.5 macro, but you don't get full 1:1 without add on. Both will work with your camera body. Any lens that fits the t3i will fit your t3.

pzung
05-27-2015, 07:59 PM
I find that the macro picture mode of any small DSC seems to do a better job than many of the more expensive DSLR lenses. You might want to spend more time/$ on the lighting and possibly a small macro tent to keep the background lighting under control

rnhood
05-27-2015, 08:27 PM
For taking pictures of finger prints you will probably be better served by an extension tube or tube set. You don't have a lighting issue and with finger prints you need fairly extreme close up.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MBDUOM?psc=1

Keep in mind however, you often have to fine tune the focus manually even though some of these extension tubes are advertised as auto-focus compatible. But they do a very good job when plenty of light is available, and you are setting up for the picture. If you need a macro for traveling then a macro lens is perhaps the best option - albeit at a much higher price.

bcroslin
05-27-2015, 08:37 PM