PDA

View Full Version : OT...weird knee thing

Ginger
04-24-2006, 11:46 PM
The continuing saga of my left knee.

I visited my doc today to see what he actually did when he scoped my knee Thursday before last. Good news was that the ACL that was installed a year ago January looks like an original! I'm no pro, but it looked like all the pictures I've seen of healthy ACLs...Yay!
More good news is they didn't have to trim any more lateral meniscus. It was fine.

The not so good news: My patellar cartilage is now soft (it was fine when they replaced the ACL). I don't know if that's due to the recent instability in the knee, or something else. (No clue, I'm not a doc)

The Weird: What they *did* find in the articular knee joint in the area of the lateral meniscus was a polyp (dang big polyp if you ask me) of irritated tissue. Not a cyst, not a plica syndrome, a "polyp".
I'm checking for the biopsy results tomorrow (the more I read, the less worried I am about that issue. I think I'd win the lottery before I have that problem with this particular growth.)

My question is: I'd like to be prepared with proper questions and requests for the next follow up visit. Has anyone else dealt with this sort of knee polyp thing before? I'm good with research and I'd do more searches on it, but I'm not sure where to start. What direction should I be looking in?

Thanks!
Mary Ann

BumbleBeeDave
04-25-2006, 06:46 AM
I don't know much about knees, but I'm just sorry you continue to have complications. I know how much you like to ride and this must be a real pain in the butt with all these complications. I hope it all works out soon so you can do more of what you love . . .

BBD

Ginger
04-25-2006, 07:07 AM
Dave,