PDA

View Full Version : OT: Amtrak Controls

Aaron O
05-17-2015, 05:45 PM
I'm not an engineer, I am a know-nothing that likely just doesn't know what I don't know. This is a bright bunch, and I'm guessing there will be someone who can answer this.

I'm not getting why putting safety features on Amtrak would be complex or expensive. It seems to me that all you have to do is have a gauge that reflects the train's speed (or this can be done via GPS), which they already have. Then all you need is a program of some sort that shows the speed limits along the rail and tracks the train's location (GPS)...and if the speed exceeds the limit by a certain amount, the brake is engaged.

2015 cars all have more complicated features than that. My pohone's GPS can do all of this except automatically engage the brake, but I can't imagine that's especially difficult.

So what am I not getting?

oldpotatoe
05-17-2015, 06:03 PM
I'm not an engineer, I am a know-nothing that likely just doesn't know what I don't know. This is a bright bunch, and I'm guessing there will be someone who can answer this.

I'm not getting why putting safety features on Amtrak would be complex or expensive. It seems to me that all you have to do is have a gauge that reflects the train's speed (or this can be done via GPS), which they already have. Then all you need is a program of some sort that shows the speed limits along the rail and tracks the train's location (GPS)...and if the speed exceeds the limit by a certain amount, the brake is engaged.

2015 cars all have more complicated features than that. My pohone's GPS can do all of this except automatically engage the brake, but I can't imagine that's especially difficult.

Money, politics, partisanship, technology, money loser company supported by Govt, politicians trying to make a point..........probably others.

rwsaunders
05-17-2015, 06:11 PM
Even golf carts and UHaul trucks have speed governors...why can't a train engine?

Plum Hill