PDA

View Full Version : Anyone knowingly riding a frame that is too big for you?

roubaix
05-11-2015, 09:50 AM
Hi everyone,
I was just wondering if anyone here is riding a frame that is larger than their ideal fit?

As some of you may know from other threads, I'm just starting back to riding from a back injury and I was given a bike to get me started again - it's a 54cm Surly Cross Check but ideally, I'm probably a 51 or 52cm guy (so I'll ultimately replace it).

I dig the bike but I hate being "that guy" with only 5cm of seatpost showing, hahaha.

Bob Ross
05-11-2015, 09:56 AM
After almost 9 years I'm finally beginning to think that my Cannondale Synapse is just slightly too big for me. It's a 58. My Strong is more-or-less a 56.5-ish and my Bridgestone is a 57, and despite the fact that the contact points are all fairly identical I'm just beginning to realize that my position on the Cannondale isn't quite working as well as the other bikes.

Another 10 years and I'll probably be convinced!

hesh0925
05-11-2015, 10:02 AM
I did before, but only because I got the frameset for SUPER cheap. Honestly, I wouldn't do it again. This is mainly because this was a beater bike and I was too cheap to buy a new stem. The fit was bad. The bike looked a bit awkward as well.

CaptStash
05-11-2015, 10:09 AM
I have stupid long legs and arms and a short torso, so fit is sort of difficult. I have been riding 57's and 58's (I am only 5-10), so I wind up with a shortish stem (90-100mm), although seat post doesn't look too bad...

I have been moving to a more aggressive position which I am realizing is more comfortable and easier on my back, so I'm thinking it may be time to try a 56cm frame and accept a greater seat to handlebar drop.

CaptStash....

batman1425
05-11-2015, 10:21 AM
The first 3 bikes I owned were based on the deal I got rather than fit. One of which was a size too big.