PDA

View Full Version : LBS levels of service

CNY rider
04-20-2006, 06:41 PM
I'd like to hear some opinions on the level of service you expect from your LBS.

There's one thing in particular I've got irritating me. My old LBS was basically a guy and his wife running a little homestyle kind of place. He was an excellent mechanic. I brought bikes in for tune-ups, mainly because at that point I didn't know how to do it myself, and as a medical resident I didn't have the time to invest to learn either. Everything I brought to him came back cleaner than when I dropped it off. I specifically remember bringing in wheels a couple of times for broken spokes/truing, and getting them back shiny clean (not that they were caked with mud or offensively filthy to begin with).

More recently, different LBS, brought the mountain bike in for total overhaul because I didn't feel like doing it. Came back to me just like it went in.....dirty.

Does your LBS give your parts/bike back to you cleaner than you brought it in? Do you think they should? Is it an essential, or more of a nice extra? What about those of you who work in bike shops?

Lanternrouge
04-20-2006, 06:48 PM
A bike should come back from an overhaul completely clean. Anything less is unacceptable.

I think it's appropriate if you get your wheels trued that they'd be cleaned up a bit in the process although it wouldn't require cleaning the cogs unless that was part of the service you paid for. I don't expect the shop to clean anything unless that's part of the specific service I'm paying for.

It sounds like the previous shop was a really good one.

bluesea
04-20-2006, 06:51 PM
I hear what you're saying, but also wonder if it would be considered rude to bring a "dirty" bike in for service? Don't we all brush our teeth before going to the dentist, and perhaps take a shower before going to the doctor?

CNY rider
04-20-2006, 07:01 PM