PDA

View Full Version : OT: For those who have walked the walk...

1happygirl
04-26-2015, 03:57 PM
Rehabbing an old colonial..

Is it financially and emotionally better to sell the house and buy new or rehab a structure that needs massive work (roof, landscaping, drainage)?

Talking the folks into selling and getting something newer /closer.

Yard is taking a toll and bikes lay dormant.

Thanks in advance as usual PBT (Paceline Brain Trust) for any advice from those who have walked the walk.

NHAero
04-26-2015, 04:37 PM
Take this with as much salt as needed (though I am a design professional and building forensic engineer):
1 - Unless the location is "can't be replaced" I don't recommend that people try to fix a house with significant moisture issues due to bad decisions made when the house was built - putting it in a wet place, with bad grading, always fighting water and gravity.
2 - It's hard to get the investment back out if major repairs that account for 100 years of bad design/construction and/or major lack of maintenance. I recently looked at a lovely 150 yr old farmhouse in a great spot here on Martha's Vineyard from some clients. It sits on a stone foundation, mostly crawl space that even a runt like me can barely squeeze into. It's on the shore of a beautiful pond. The house has other moisture issues. The right way to really fix this once and for all is to lift the house in place and put a good foundation under it, with moisture control and a proper thermal boundary to the ground. That's expensive, and the next owner won't want to pay for it when you set the selling price.