PDA

View Full Version : New guy looking for decent aluminum frame bike I can grow with.

rx7ttlm
04-15-2015, 04:25 PM
I am a new user here and also pretty new to cycling. As a kid I used to ride all the time but that somehow faded. Looking to get into cycling for fitness and a fun way to scratch my competitive itch. I have a New old stock 2012 Anthem X1 29er I am picking up tomorrow. With that said I am looking for a new road bike frame set. I purchased a shimano 5800 105 group set and rs11 wheels and put them on a giant OCR. The problem is the bike is actually a 56 cm frame and it's also flexy. When I put the power down and look at the bottom bracket I can see it moving side to side. I fall in the Clydesdale category and always will be. Even when I graduated Marine Corps boot camp I was 190. 3 tours later I am about 280 and looking to use cycling to drop back down to 220-240.

With that said, I am looking for an alloy "race" bike. I have gotten a million suggestions from my friends. Everything from Giant Defy advanced (carbon), to specialized allez smartweld, to Cannondale CAAD10 and on. Anyhow, I was wondering what you guys thought. I will probably never race to be at the front. But I will undoubtedly do sport style races when ever I can. Since I have already blown a metric ton of money on bikes I would like to keep the price around 500 ish for the frame. I already messaged one member about his Allez 54 cm frame, but I am just going to cover my bases and see what the guys with more experience say. I have a 32 inch inseam and am 5'10". I looked at evans cycling sizing chart and saw they suggest a 56cm... thoughts? Anyone happen to have a 56cm Allez frame set or 54cm Allez they want to part with? lol

Thanks!

Uncle Jam's Army
04-15-2015, 04:31 PM
It's tough to look past a CAAD10. Hear good things about the Allez, but having ridden a CAAD10, that's what I recommend.

rnhood
04-15-2015, 04:33 PM