PDA

View Full Version : campy veloce 10 sp cable installation driving me bonkers

jh_on_the_cape
02-24-2015, 05:33 PM
I can see how it should go. Line up the little hole on the ratcheting thing. Insert campy cable but then it has to turn up through the mount and out then down to the housing. I have kinked or unraveled two of my three cables trying this. Before I ruin the last one and go Wiggins on the bike... any help? I think any bike shop monkey I bring it to would be just as knowledgeable as I am unless I go to some campy guru... why do I need a guru to replace a cable? This is for the front left shifter.

dustyrider
02-24-2015, 05:56 PM
No luck on YouTube?

donevwil
02-24-2015, 06:12 PM
Are you trying to swap the cable with the lever mounted on the bar, housing run and bars wrapped ? Are these Gen 3 levers ?

I'm no pro mech so I always partially unwrap the bars and loosen the housing as it ends up saving time in the end.

tuscanyswe
02-24-2015, 06:17 PM
I don't let the cable go up before it goes down so to speak. The bend is to steap for that. I use whatever pointy item i have laying around to push / stear the cable directly into the slot where the housing goes, assuming you are trying to get the cable routed on the back of the bar that is.

thwart
02-24-2015, 06:26 PM
Unless you're a really lucky sort of guy (btw the soldered pointed ends of new Campy cables really helps here), re-doing cables on 10 spd Campy usually requires partial bar tape removal and pulling the cable housing out of the ergo a bit. Then you pass the new cable thru the ergo, into the housing, reassemble, and have a beer.

enr1co
02-24-2015, 06:42 PM
Unless you're a really lucky sort of guy (btw the soldered pointed ends of new Campy cables really helps here
+1
Were the cables ruined brand new w/ soldered ends or were you re-using cables? Even if you think the end of a used cable is cut cleanly, it may not be clean enough to thread through the shifter.

jemoryl
02-24-2015, 06:54 PM