PDA

View Full Version : bike touring Finger Lakes

eddief
02-18-2015, 09:49 PM
considering an unloaded tour here at some point in the future. I know our now not to be heard from Douglas Brooks used to invite Forumites to the hood for tours near his home. But I am thinking 10 days or so and wondering if it is generally a great place to ride. I hear climbing should be expected.

bigman
02-18-2015, 10:51 PM
I have limited experience in this area, plenty of hills, great vistas and nice roads.
a bike shop in Geneva recommended skyline drive by Keuka Lake they said it was the best of finger lakes cycling. I did that ride and it was memorable.
it's also a great place to bring a fatter tired rig as there are plenty of nice unpaved roads. I loved taking my 650b road rig to this part of the world, gives you tons of options.

CNY rider
02-19-2015, 05:47 AM
Come give it a try with us this summer: http://forums.thepaceline.net/showthread.php?t=161565

We are east of the Finger Lakes but with very similar terrain and riding.

soulspinner
02-19-2015, 05:50 AM
I have limited experience in this area, plenty of hills, great vistas and nice roads.
a bike shop in Geneva recommended skyline drive by Keuka Lake they said it was the best of finger lakes cycling. I did that ride and it was memorable.
it's also a great place to bring a fatter tired rig as there are plenty of nice unpaved roads. I loved taking my 650b road rig to this part of the world, gives you tons of options.

What Big said. Be sure to have a 27 minimum in back unless you are a cat 2. I live in Rochester and feel this is some of the best cycling in the northeast. Wineries, great views of awesome lakes, excellent restaurants and freakishly fast descending (ya ya gotta get up first). You wont be disappointed.

45K10
02-19-2015, 06:36 AM