PDA

View Full Version : Seeking approval for my new wheelset

crossjunkee
04-07-2006, 11:40 AM
After much debate, I've decided on a wheelset for my Spectrum. I also decided on a builder.

I talked to Mike Garcia in length about wheels yesterday. Very easy to talk to, and really knows his product! This will be my everyday, race, daily work commute, and climbing wheelset. Here's what we decided on.

White Industries hubs H1's black
CX-ray spokes black (I chose these b/c I love the way they look. If Mike felt strongly about another spoke, I would've switched.)
DT RR rims 28 front and rear radial laced front
brass drive side nipples only

Yes, everything is black, but I'm partial to black wheels

I've always heard good things about White Industries, but I have zero first hand knowledge. Is anybody riding these hubs currently?

SoCalSteve
04-07-2006, 11:47 AM
Mike Garcia built, White Industry hubs with DT 14/15 spokes and DT RR 1.1 rimes. 32 spoke....

Very nice set up!

Steve

davids
04-07-2006, 11:48 AM
Mike Garcia? I approve!

No experience with White hubs, but the wheels (http://forums.thepaceline.net/showthread.php?t=9712) that Mike built for me are my everyday set, and they're lovely.

crossjunkee
04-07-2006, 02:43 PM
Mike Garcia? I approve!

No experience with White hubs, but the wheels (http://forums.thepaceline.net/showthread.php?t=9712) that Mike built for me are my everyday set, and they're lovely.

Your picture and insight helped with my decision this week, so thank you! I originally called for the DT hubs. but his price was so much lower than anticipated, I upgraded the hubs to Whites. Mike didn't care for the DT front hub, and being the picky person I am, I had to have matching hubs. Even though the SpeedCific hubs would've performed just fine. I'll probably be ordering a set of those for my cross bike this fall.

Fixed
04-07-2006, 03:14 PM
bro that is not the same mike garcia that used to swim for stanford and was a cat 2 cyclist in the early 80's is it ?