PDA

View Full Version : Spoke length calculator and ordering spokes etc.

LiveFreeOrDie
02-12-2015, 08:17 AM
Hello everyone. Going to order some rims/spokes/nipples today so I can some wheels built by my LBS. This is my first time doing this. Ordering rims, spokes, nipples, etc.

I noticed that when I use a spoke calculator, it comes up with 3 to 4 different lengths of spokes for the left side and right side, which I understand why. If my results are like 292.3 or 294.1, do I round up or down to the size?

I'm assuming that the shop has the ability to cut the spokes if needed?

Thanks for your help/suggestions. :)

oldpotatoe
02-12-2015, 08:30 AM
Hello everyone. Going to order some rims/spokes/nipples today so I can some wheels built by my LBS. This is my first time doing this. Ordering rims, spokes, nipples, etc.

I noticed that when I use a spoke calculator, it comes up with 3 to 4 different lengths of spokes for the left side and right side, which I understand why. If my results are like 292.3 or 294.1, do I round up or down to the size?

I'm assuming that the shop has the ability to cut the spokes if needed?

Thanks for your help/suggestions. :)

?? I use this spoke calc..put in rim ERD, hub dimensions(flange diameter and center to flange), drilling and cross and you should get

one number for RH rear, one for LH rear and one for front.

http://www.bikeschool.com/tools/spoke-length-calculator

I generally round up unless it's .1/.2. Remember spokes are plus/minus 1mm anyway when made. And depends on the flange as well. Real fat ones, like DT, I round up. Big spoke holes, I use spoke washers and round up as well.

If the shop has a spoke cutter/threader, yes, they can cut/thread them. Most don't have one and a lot don't even know what they are.

Formulasaab
02-12-2015, 08:33 AM