PDA

View Full Version : Who else is hungry? Pre-season cutting

Dead Man
02-03-2015, 02:26 PM
Call it a misery-loves-company thread..

Who's currently cutting for the approaching season?

How much did you pack on these holidays/how much you cutting back?

What are you doing to do it?

I have been "over weight" (for a cyclist) by about 10lbs pretty much since I started riding, but for as long as I continued to make gains on my climb segment times, I didn't sweat it too much. Having felt like I finally plateaued at the end of last season, and with the addition of about 10 more lbs ( :eek: ) of extra weight this winter un-season, I'm on a mission to cut all the way back to fighting weight. I peaked at around 170 in the middle of January (pie... Like Judas, it betrays you with a kiss), started counting cals 16 days ago, and am down 7 of the desired 20lbs I want to shed by the first week of March. It's a pretty simple thing to do.... eat less, ride more. Except that after initially dropping those 7lbs in the first week and a half, I have since not had any notable weight loss. I upped my basal intake from 17 to 20 kcals because I was shedding so much weight so fast, and was horribly miserably hungry. I haven't been as hungry, with those extra 300 cals... but I finally just edited my app to take me back to 1700 cals. I guess cutting is supposed to make you feel like an anorexic 16 year old girl.

One of my biggest problems is finding low fat, low sodium sources of protein. I'm consistently short on my protein goals every day, which obviously is going to hurt my stregnth:weight if I don't figure that out.

First race is March 28-29.. 7500' over two days. Not a killer, but it's gonna separate those with an extra bike's worth of weight hanging off their mid-sections from those who don't.

54ny77
02-03-2015, 02:56 PM
Mmm....cutting.....

http://www.finecooking.com/assets/uploads/posts/30501/051110093-02-how-to-slice-steak_xlg.jpg

seanile
02-03-2015, 03:01 PM