PDA

View Full Version : "Wayfinding" when cycling

Sol
01-28-2015, 02:42 PM
I am a college student and doing research for a class project and I am currently exploring the area of "wayfinding" while cycling and curious to see your experiences.

If you have the time to fill out the quick survey that would be awesome. If not, any sort of response on wayfinding would be useful. I defer to your experiences because I am sure many of you have been cycling much longer than I have.

Thank you so much for your time!

EDIT:
It's been a couple weeks since the survey was posted and it was cool seeing how people find their way around on a bike and seeing how similar it was from person to person. It seemed that backtracking was the preferred method and out of the 90 people or so, around 20 said that they would keep going but there were a few others who would determine the reminder of their ride based on how they felt. Looking back, this survey was definitely necessary to see where the problem existed or rather, where it didn't exist. It seemed that most of the riding as described was in cities or more urban areas where the buildings and neighborhoods were designed around a grid system and so it would be easier to backtrack or turn around.

If you do have the time, I would really appreciate if you could answer the new survey!
http://goo.gl/forms/u6jLPkAB7i

k-mac
01-28-2015, 03:18 PM
Done. Will you share your results with us when completed?

Sol
01-28-2015, 03:22 PM
Thank you so much and yes! I will share the results when the research portion is over.

Working on a design project and trying to see if there are any problems that currently exist.

eippo1
01-29-2015, 09:12 AM
Done. Good stuff.

tumbler
01-29-2015, 09:24 AM
Done.

azrider
01-29-2015, 09:28 AM
Done

BumbleBeeDave
01-29-2015, 10:19 AM
Good luck!

PaMtbRider
01-29-2015, 11:34 AM
done and good luck!

jr59
01-29-2015, 12:07 PM
Submitted

MattTuck
01-29-2015, 12:19 PM
Done.

JAllen
01-29-2015, 03:03 PM