PDA

View Full Version : OT: Want to buy a shotgun...

veggieburger
01-22-2015, 11:33 AM
Howdy shooters. So....I have sold some earthly possessions and would like to buy a shotgun. It will be used for deer 90% of the time. I have never hunted birds or geese and don't plan to, but it might get pointed at a coyote or two.

After doing a teeny tiny bit of research I'm thinking a Mossberg 500 with multiple barrels. There's a 3 barrel combo at Cabelas that looks pretty good (including a rifled barrel for slugs). Probably get a composite stock so I don't feel bad about taking it out in crappy weather.

A 223 would be awesome, but because of local laws where I live, it has to be a shotgun.

Any other input/brands/suggestions?
Thanks!

brockd15
01-22-2015, 11:52 AM
I'm no shotgun expert by any stretch, but I think the Mossberg would be a good choice. You might also look at the the Remington 870. From what I've heard it's the most popular shotgun ever made...or something like that. I have one and I like it. You can find all the aftermarket stuff for it like you can the Mossberg.

I don't think you could go wrong with either of them.

gdw
01-22-2015, 12:02 PM
Check out the Ithaca Deerslayer. Classic design and very accurate.

malcolm
01-22-2015, 12:09 PM
Check out the Ithaca Deerslayer. Classic design and very accurate.

I don't shoot or hunt anymore but was an enthusiast for many years. I've always had good luck with and liked Ithaca, now the last one I owned was some twenty years ago and Ithaca tended to be light and kick pretty hard, if that matters again that was a long time ago.

Remington 870 has been around forever and is what we used in the military a little shortened and with a high capacity magazine. Mossbergs also have a long history. Slug barrel is a good idea if you plan on shooting slugs as I think the rifling improves the accuracy. If you are going to shoot buckshot, I always preferred a longish barrel with a full choke, just my choice.

MattTuck