PDA

View Full Version : C-50 revisited...

catulle
04-02-2006, 02:16 PM
After some 100 kms on the C-50, I'm gaining a sharper focus on the different aspects of the bicycle.

What I like better now than when I rode it for the first time (or what I've come to appreciate better): The Gommaitalia Targa tires. I like them way better than the 19mm Continental 3000 I've been riding for the past several years. The Targa tires are more comfortable and smoother without acting slow and fat. But more importantly, they "feel" more durable and impervious to flats. The 3000 tires feel hard and "brittle", whereas the Targa feel pliant and very road worthy. And no cuts so far (some of the roads I travel would make Paris-Roubaix feel like a frozen lake).

I'm also getting better acquainted with the Aliante. I lowered the nose a little and it has made a difference after the first hour on the saddle. However, when taking the hands off the bars the butt slides a tiny bit forward, but nothing bothersome.

I really like the Cateye wireless, heart rate monitor computer (2000 something model). It works like a million bucks. I just wish they'd design the damn things without so much bright aluminum and clear plastic that reflects like a light house when the sun is shinning.

What might not be so hot after all: I must admit that the 40 cm bars might be a bit narrow, and it is reflected in a little discomfort on the wrists after being on the bicycle for some time. However, I think the "cramped cockpit" thing is great. Quid pro quo, bob.

The more I think about engineering that requires a shap knife to take a hub apart, the more I don't like the Fulcrum wheels. Not that they don't ride well, it is just the sloppy engineering that I don't like. Also, the computer magnet supplied by Fulcrum is well designed and nifty on the fat spokes, but totally useless because it is way too small to activate the computer. No more Fulcrum for this old dude. :crap: :no: :butt: