PDA

View Full Version : Dissappointed in my Time Xpresso Pedals

Pierre
01-15-2015, 12:20 PM
I've been a loyal user of Time pedals since 1989 but I think I'm done. Got a pair of Xpresso 10's for a very reasonable price from Excel Sports last February, rode them for 6 months and the axle became loose. Finally got around to returning them when the season came to an end and Excel was very good about coordinating a replacement with Time (at the time they also suggested that I could choose to get something else...I wish I would have taken them up on that). I started using the new pedals in December. 6 weeks later after a small number of outdoor rides and maybe 24hrs on the trainer the axle is loose again. Wow. I'm not a heavy guy nor do I push ridiculously hard but I'm afraid that's it for me and Time. Over to Look for me. Downer.

thirdgenbird
01-15-2015, 12:25 PM
I've got no experience with time, but I am a very happy keo 2 max user. I've also got some earlier classics. The classics are ok, but the keo 2 max is worth the price jump in my opinion.

El Chaba
01-15-2015, 12:34 PM
After the original Time Racing pedal design, every generation has given up durability and or function for the sake of compactness and light weight. Some was welcome, but they have surpassed the balance point. Personally, I think that the Impact series were the best pedals ever made. The fact that Time still offers the RXS pedals speaks volumes to the success of all of the carbon spring/plastic cleat replacements.

FlashUNC
01-15-2015, 12:35 PM
I've got two pairs of XPresso 6's and 8's. Very happy with both with no axle issues.

Maybe I've gotten lucky.

Are the 10s the ones with the Ti axles? Or are these still steel?

false_Aest
01-15-2015, 12:37 PM
I'm gonna chalk that up to a bad batch.

I've got a handful of friends who are putting gobs of miles on their xpressos and they're holding up just as well as the RXS models, Shimano or Look pedals.