PDA

View Full Version : Gaiter or Balaclava for cold riding (sub 30)

bikerboy337
01-06-2015, 02:27 PM
So this is my first year of riding in sub zero temps (never had a good winter bike in the past and was just a wuss).

So i've been good up to this point with what i have... but today was snowing and 22 degrees out, mild wind... overall was a great ride, but my chin and cheeks froze for a bit and got pretty cold...

Question.....Do you prefer to use a neck gaiter with a nice winter hat or a balaclava?

I'm leaning towards a gaiter as its a little more adjustable (ie. when i warm up I can pull it down), plus the Rapha hat will be a little warmer and I love it... afraid that with a balaclava there is less temperature regulation and the hat portion will be a bit less warm that my toasty Rapha hat...

Whats your experience... this is just for nice 15-20 mile rides, some trails, but mostly bike paths and side roads...

malcolm
01-06-2015, 02:39 PM
I don't have those kind of temps but when I ride anything in the 30s I use a balaclava with a wool skull cap over it. Mine is thin and when it warms up you can just pull it down under your chin. I don't recall it ever getting hot enough or uncomfortable enough that I stopped and took it off.

sandyrs
01-06-2015, 02:39 PM
I like a neck gaiter with a normal cycling cap. You can pull the gaiter up over your ears and nose before putting on your helmet and still have no issues with visibility. I find that winter caps often overinsulate and I end up with a sweat-soaked cap that's just as cold as I would have been without it. A regular cap vents well in the cold, but the neck warmer piece should cover most of your face and your ears.

moose8
01-06-2015, 02:43 PM