PDA

View Full Version : Carbon wheels for a Fred?

paredown
01-06-2015, 07:23 AM
I've been admiring a bike that is for sale that comes with carbon wheels--and my first thought was 'Sell the carbon'--and then it struck me that I have had no experience with carbon wheels.

I found this thread--'Who races and trains on carbon wheels (http://forums.thepaceline.net/showthread.php?t=160900&highlight=carbon+wheels)' and I'm sure that I was racing I would want the latest and lightest, but I'm interested as to whether or not a Fred should consider riding on them.

I've been a 32h good alu rim guy for my riding life and would be interested in hearing about the advantages of carbon.

(An aside--I was passed on my regular route by a racing pack--and the first thing I noticed was the different sound of the pack--all those carbon wheels turning in anger sound different than a pack at speed on old school tubs/alloy wheels...)

kgreene10
01-06-2015, 07:38 AM
I race on carbon and pull them out for the occasional training ride with the fast guys. For me, the biggest downside is braking. For that reason alone, I wouldn't train on them regularly.

carpediemracing
01-06-2015, 08:50 AM
I've been admiring a bike that is for sale that comes with carbon wheels--and my first thought was 'Sell the carbon'--and then it struck me that I have had no experience with carbon wheels.

I found this thread--'Who races and trains on carbon wheels (http://forums.thepaceline.net/showthread.php?t=160900&highlight=carbon+wheels)' and I'm sure that I was racing I would want the latest and lightest, but I'm interested as to whether or not a Fred should consider riding on them.

I've been a 32h good alu rim guy for my riding life and would be interested in hearing about the advantages of carbon.