PDA

View Full Version : Bought an aluminum cross bike.

farmersam
12-28-2014, 10:26 AM
I've been riding steel for 20 years. My nephew was selling his Trek Cross Rip Elite at a price I couldn't refuse, and now I remember why this 40 something with herniated lumbar discs gave up on aluminum.

The tires are Bontrager H5 Hard-Case Ultimate, 700x32c.

Does anyone have experience with different tires that can provide stability and comfort? I'm using this on the GAP, with 3 miles of tar and chip pavament in between.

charliedid
12-28-2014, 10:43 AM
Try a fatter nicer tire and give it a chance. Those tires are, well...um not very "nice" riding IMO

Try something like the tire below in a 120 TPI

http://clementcycling.com/ush

Miles
12-28-2014, 10:46 AM
Hard cases are really harsh riding but what psi are you running?

Also...aluminum seatpost? A carbon post could give you a little more flex as well. If you can handle 20mm of setback the specialized cg-r is an option that will take the edge off somewhat. But before exploring posts...do what was recommended above and experiment with different tires or psi.

Jeff Borisch
12-28-2014, 10:51 AM
What tire pressure are you using? How much do you weigh? I wouldn't be using more that 50psi in those.

I was going to suggest a flexier steel fork but it looks like maybe the steerer is tapered on the cross-rip.

You could definitely fit some nicer wide tires and run comfy pressures.

All is not lost.

xjoex
12-28-2014, 10:53 AM
For the great allegheny passage I'd ride a CX tire at 35 PSI all day. In fact I have :)

-Joe

thirdgenbird
12-28-2014, 11:06 AM
I agree, start with the tires. I rode a smaller bontrager hardcase for a while. What a miserable tire.

p nut
12-28-2014, 11:10 AM
A carbon post could give you a little more flex as well.

Carbon doesn't necessarily mean more compliant. In fact, I found the opposite to be true most of the time. Maybe Ti may be better, but this guy might be better off with a Thudbuster.

Cornfed