PDA

View Full Version : Fragile Fitness

stephenmarklay
11-26-2014, 01:15 PM
Over the last month I have been ramping up my trainer time. I worked up to about 11-12 hours the last week but I have come to the conclusion that it is just to difficult mentally and time wise for me. I work 10 hours a day so I train at 5:00am and its a big push.

Therefore, I am going to do more tempo and less endurance pace. I will strive to get a long ride in on the weekend if weather permits.

Training for 2 hours is doable most days for me but at an endurance pace I won't get a lot of fitness or push up my FTP.

I started "sweet spot" base training using trainer road.

Any advice?

sandyrs
11-26-2014, 01:25 PM
Get rollers.

I'm not being snarky. I started riding rollers instead of the trainer for the bulk of my indoor riding last winter and ended up starting off the spring with a much smoother pedal stroke, no burnout (you can only work so hard on rollers before you spin out unless you're using the tiny Kreitler barrels), a solid base, and no worn out tires. I still mixed in the trainer for variety or longer rides during a weekend blizzard (I, at least, can't ride for three hours on rollers under any circumstances).

christian
11-26-2014, 01:44 PM
Be careful.

I was doing 8-10 hours of training per week in the spring and early summer, combined with long hours at the job (and lots of sitting) and not enough sleep. I managed to injure my lower back and have been on the bike twice since July, and the lowest miles I've had any year since 1995.

I'd urge caution. You're not getting paid to ride your bike, so keep it fun.

Hank Scorpio
11-26-2014, 02:53 PM
What the heck?@!? You are 50% of our team!!!!!!!

I hurt my right calf last weekend so I am laying off the trainer for the week. Probably hit the rollers though.

TMB
11-26-2014, 02:59 PM
I opted not to go the gym this morning, even though was scheduled.

I am cross training with a snow shovel.

Fitness comes from all sorts of places.