PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning tubie rims - necessary?

d_douglas
11-21-2014, 12:29 AM
So I am an amateur with tubulars. I own one set of Record/Nemesis wheels that I bought used and I have used up the Schwalbe tubies that came with them.

I bought new Vittoria Corsa Elite 25s in the Spring and replaced the front, which was dead, but didn't bother with the rear. Now I need to do this and when I stripped the old tire off, I found that there was way more glue on the rear than what was on the front wheel. In fact, it is a mess.

I spent a bit of time cleaning up the front, but they were by no mans clean when I put the new tire on. The brown nasty gunk caked on the rear leads me to think that I cannot correctly mount the new tire and when I tried halfheartedly to clean it, it is really tough to do.

Do I need to do it? Should I go to the trouble? If yes, how?!?!

These were former pro wheels , so they were well cared for. I guess they superglue rear tubulars in Eurooe?!

Thanks for any replies,

Darren

ultraman6970
11-21-2014, 12:33 AM
Short answer is NO.

The reaosn maybe the rear has more glue is not because they super glue the tubular to the rim, but because the rear was swapped many more times than the front one because of punctures, the rear worn out quick or anything else you can think of.

If you want to clean just use some mineral spirits to soft the glue, other people just a drill with a metal brush... you have to be creative.

If you glu over the top the old glue will become softer.

oldpotatoe
11-21-2014, 08:18 AM
So I am an amateur with tubulars. I own one set of Record/Nemesis wheels that I bought used and I have used up the Schwalbe tubies that came with them.

I bought new Vittoria Corsa Elite 25s in the Spring and replaced the front, which was dead, but didn't bother with the rear. Now I need to do this and when I stripped the old tire off, I found that there was way more glue on the rear than what was on the front wheel. In fact, it is a mess.