PDA

View Full Version : Semi-OT: Starting Strength/Stronglifts 5x5

Nooch
11-18-2014, 12:38 PM
Just curious if anyone has experience with these programs. They were always lauded over on VWVortex (since we've been talking so much JSW around here lately) and I've always been interested in the program, never committed though.

This year, I'm all in. Just need to find a buddy to help me out with the form aspect..

Starting Strength (http://www.amazon.com/Starting-Strength-3rd-Mark-Rippetoe/dp/0982522738/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1416335854&sr=8-1&keywords=starting+strength)
Stronglifts 5x5 (http://stronglifts.com/5x5/)

MattTuck
11-18-2014, 01:19 PM
Hey Nooch,

I'm not an expert, or an experienced strength trainer, so take this for what it is. A novice's opinion.

1.) Form is important as you add weight, so as you rightly pointed out, that should be a high priority before you get started if you decide on either of these programs.

2.) After doing a course of PT earlier this year which involved a lot of unilateral and asymmetric exercises, I'm much more a fan of those than of things like squats and dead lifts. I'm sure the squats and dead lifts make you stronger, and allow you to squat and dead lift heavier and heavier weights. But I think the stabilizing requirements of your core and secondary muscles during unilateral exercises results in better functional strength.

3.) Good luck! God knows, since winter seems to be setting in early, we'll all be figuring out our winter fitness strategy soon enough.

spacemen3
11-18-2014, 01:56 PM
I'd recommend giving it a try. Stronglifts works well because you start with the bar and the gradual weight increase gives you plenty of time to focus on proper form and to develop the necessary stabilizing muscles. I found it difficult to do my regular aerobic activities during the program, however, but that's not all that surprising. :)

jmoore
11-18-2014, 02:27 PM
another option: