PDA

View Full Version : 3 Weeks Post Op + Good News!

mwos
03-21-2006, 09:18 PM
Today I'm three weeks post op with acl surgery. For the last 2 weeks I've been working on strength (closed chain), balance, propioception training, and beginner/intermediate pilates.

I used crutches the first couple of days after surgery and ditched them on Sat. when I kept forgetting them. My OS let me ditch the brace when I saw him for my post op visit, 1 week later.

On Thursday, 1 week, 2 days after surgery I started riding the trainer (therapist approved) with platform pedals and gym shoes and a raised saddle.

I'm now up to 50 minutes, spinning 75-80 rpm with a decent heartrate and starting to lower the saddle.

My OS's protocol says I can use the stairmaster and nordic track at 5 weeks but no real bicycling for 13 weeks, which is the first of June. Also, no going for walks, hiking etc. so crosstraining is pretty much out.

However, my PT is so impressed with my quad strength that she's going to ask my OS if he will move the bicycling timeline up!

I know I'm not ready yet but I'd be so thrilled if I could at least ride around the neighborhood, it's flat, by the 1st of May. That sure beats all of May on the trainer or in the gym.

Anyway, even if my OS says "no" I'm pleased that my PT thinks I'm doing so well.

Kathi

Sandy
03-21-2006, 09:28 PM
Wonderful news! It certainly appears that you are recovering remarkably well. You seem to be advancing at an excellent pace. Perhaps your PT will be able to influence the OS to shorten the process. Be sure to be patient and not try to do too much too soon.

Keep up the outstanding improvement.

Sturgeon Surgeon Sandy

Bud
03-21-2006, 09:29 PM
Sounds like it's going well, Kathi. I'm glad to hear it. Keep us posted and June will be here before you know it. You won't miss the best part of our season around here!

btw I was at Vail the other day and thought of your story when I was skiing into the maze at the bottom of Game Creek. ;)

mwos