PDA

View Full Version : SRAM 10 vs 11 chainrings and 11 speed

pakora
11-12-2014, 09:23 AM
I'm an 11 speed noob with a first setup, and I'm wondering whether I need 11-specific rings to run an 11 setup (Rival 22, all new parts except for the cranks, with a Shimano cassette and KMC chain). The answer to this isn't obvious to me after searching a bunch, but I do see that SRAM has S3 (11s) chainrings that look identical to S2 ones (10s) except the latter are marked as 10s.

Will SRAM 10 speed rings shift fine? In my experience mixing rings and chains hasn't mattered, but with a narrower chain and the yaw FD I'm not at all sure.

gospastic
11-12-2014, 09:42 AM
I have tried both - Sram Red exogram crankset with 10sp rings and with the 11sp rings. Both work, but 11sp work better. At first glance there didn't seem to be any differences between the rings, but there's probably some spacing differences. Just don't have a way to measure.

binouye
11-12-2014, 09:47 AM
For a little while I ran some Red 10sp rings on an FSA crank with otherwise Campy 11 drivetrain. Yeah, sacrilege. I didn't notice any problems with spacing, but like many others I felt the Sram chainrinngs didn't shift as well as others and went back to the FSA rings (and then later replaced the crank with proper Campy UT version). I've also run a 10sp Stronglight crank with otherwise 11sp Campy drivetrain, again no problems with spacing.

oldpotatoe
11-12-2014, 09:51 AM
I'm an 11 speed noob with a first setup, and I'm wondering whether I need 11-specific rings to run an 11 setup (Rival 22, all new parts except for the cranks, with a Shimano cassette and KMC chain). The answer to this isn't obvious to me after searching a bunch, but I do see that SRAM has S3 (11s) chainrings that look identical to S2 ones (10s) except the latter are marked as 10s.

Will SRAM 10 speed rings shift fine? In my experience mixing rings and chains hasn't mattered, but with a narrower chain and the yaw FD I'm not at all sure.