PDA

View Full Version : Easton ec90 equipes + Deda Newton - who's using this combo?

BdaGhisallo
03-19-2006, 03:11 PM
I have been running an Easton ec90 equipe pro bar for a couple of months now and I love it. The shape is great. I am using Ritchey's new 4axis stem with it, the one designed specifically for carbon bars. On top of having to endure the horrid graphics on the stem, I am still getting an ungodly creaking out of it. I posted about this previously and have taken heed of all the suggestions that you have thoughtfully provided, but to no relief!!

So I am strongly considering putting the newton back on. I know that four bolt stems are somewhat worrisome for carbon bars in some quarters. I used it for about a fortnight when I got the bar before putting on the ritchey. I torqued it at 6nM, the low end of the range Deda spec on the stem and while there was a tiny bit of creaking, it was nothing compared to the hell I am currently living through.

For those that are using this combo, how is it holding up? Is the newton causing any issues or worry? I see that Easton now states that the 31.8mm bar is compatible with four bolt stems, something they didn't say previously ( I guess they were trying to sell their two-bolt stems).

Also, I have some of this new Tacx dynamic assembly compound coming. It is designed to aid in the install of carbon bits, providing a bit of an adhesive and filler effect, allowing you to get the same clamping force with slightly lower bolt torques. This should tame the cacophony somewhat I hope, but if it doesn't do the trick the Newton is coming off the bench into the game and the ritchey will be exiled to the penalty box!!

http://www.cbike.com/tacx_dynamic_assembly_compound.htm

So what do you guys think? Is the newton safe?