PDA

View Full Version : School me on wheels

notsew
10-14-2014, 10:36 PM
Looks like wheels are going to be my gear obsession of the month.

I've been riding for a couple of years and slowly upgrading stuff as opportunities arise. I've got my eyes on going for wheels next. I'm cheap so that means that I'm probably in the used market ($300-$400). I've been trying to track opinions on wheels, but it feels a little overwhelming.

I'm currently on Campy Khamsin G3s on a Look 555 (forum purchase) and an old 10 speed Daytona group. I try to ride 30-50 miles a week as time, my wife and one-year-old allow. Mostly just for fitness, but racing for fun isn't out of the realm of future possibilities.

I'm never going to be a rockstar rider, but I like to go as fast as I can and everything I've upgraded so far has made the ride more fun and pleasant. I don't even know what I want, but I want to know more. I've been eyeing Zondas, Eurus or Ksyriums.

What types of pros and cons should I be considering? What should I expect from better wheels? How does Campy's selection line up with Mavics? If I was going for some handmade option, what types of things should I look for? How do I think about prices for that?

Thanks

rustychisel
10-14-2014, 10:42 PM
Gosh, umm, oldpotatoe will say 'get handbuilts', lots of others will say 'get Campagnolo wheels', some people will say Mavic 'are crap', others will say 'they're good', I say read more topic lines about this then get what floats your boat, aesthetically speaking also, and MAKE SURE you spend good money on the best tyres you can get. Then ride 'em at proper pressures and smile.

thirdgenbird
10-14-2014, 10:43 PM
Go with a spring classic look and buy these:
http://forums.thepaceline.net/showthread.php?t=156867
It would hard to get a classier, higher quality, or more durable wheelset elsewhere. Get a great set of tires (veloflex master) and the ride will be fantastic.