PDA

View Full Version : new method of brake pad adjustment

oliver1850
10-09-2014, 12:23 PM
saves on rim wear:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Bianchi-27-Speed-700cm-Custom-JALCO-Rims-Re-Furbished-Mens-Bike-Must-See-/121455268248?ssPageName=ADME:SS:SS:US:3160

Dead Man
10-09-2014, 12:27 PM
What.... buying a whole bike for the price of a set of cheap wheels?

Dead Man
10-09-2014, 12:32 PM
Almost looks like it's been ridden like that, even..

Are those 650s?

nublar
10-09-2014, 12:36 PM
Also cleans your sidewalls

regularguy412
10-09-2014, 04:15 PM
Wowie! Kinda reminds me of the clincher mounted inside-out and then wondered why it wore out so quickly.

I bet it will put you over the bars in short order, too!

Mike in AR:beer:

ultraman6970
10-09-2014, 04:20 PM
What is what I'm looking for in the picture?

Dead Man
10-09-2014, 04:21 PM
What is what I'm looking for in the picture?

Look at the brakes

David Kirk
10-09-2014, 04:42 PM
I worked in retail shops for a lifetime before going to the dark side (light side?.......less dark side?......dusk side! Yeah that's it! Dusk side) and you would not believe the stuff that comes in.

I recall a guy calling saying that the bike we sold him was defective because the brake pads wouldn't adjust to where they needed to be. Well it was a brand new bike and worked as it should when it left. We told the guy to bring it in and he was doing his best to get the pads to run on the sidewall of the tire........he told me "that's what the tan part of the tire is for!" with that 'you moron' tone. I told him as gently as I could that the pads are meant to run on the rim and not the tire and he demanded him money back for the bike and told the boss that i was trying to pull a fast on on him. I'd guess the guy had a bike as a kid with the wrong size wheel in it (like the ebay bike) and thought that was how it was supposed to be.