PDA

View Full Version : Going from cycling to running

Chris
10-06-2014, 02:17 PM
I know this has been discussed to a degree. I'm at a point with family/career stuff that the easiest thing to do might be to give up on the stress of fitting in the traditional approach to training for cycling (especially this winter) and do something that takes less time. It seems that I could get in a pretty good workout by running for an hour. I'm 44 and I've never run competitively. The thought has crossed my mind to try something different for a year while still riding for fun with the occasional race thrown in. Any competitive runners here? Have you mixed both or ran for awhile? If you did then came back to cycling, did you feel like you lost much?

Cat3roadracer
10-06-2014, 03:17 PM
Chris, I'm the same age and am in the same situation. I would prefer to cycle, but most days of the week (like five), it's not going to happen. I have been running for several years and have always enjoyed it. I currently run 30/week with an occasional 5 or 10 k race mixed in. I feel that my cardio fitness is reasonable, but nothing nothing compares hammering with the fast kids.

In my opinion as long as to are doing something on a regular basis, you are ahead of most of the country.

Good luck with whatever you choose.

Dave

holliscx
10-06-2014, 03:27 PM