PDA

View Full Version : Zwift: another attempt to alleviate trainer boredom

fiamme red
09-30-2014, 09:48 PM
http://www.bikeradar.com/road/news/article/zwift-launches-multiplayer-online-training-videogame-42593/

http://blogs.wsj.com/digits/2014/09/30/zwift-is-trying-to-turn-indoor-cycling-into-virtual-reality/

Customers who sign up Tuesday can race one another around Zwift Island, the company’s first virtual landscape. A virtual Central Park may be next, the company says.Complete with pedicabs, wobbly tourists on bikes, horse carriages, cabs, 46 traffic lights, unmarked police cars, etc.? :)

fiamme red
10-01-2014, 08:30 AM
Review: http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2014/09/ultra-graphics-trainer.html

gmcampy
10-01-2014, 11:45 AM
Saw this today, looks really cool and might actually make winter training bearable if it fully materializes and isnt cost prohibative

redir
10-01-2014, 01:36 PM
I think it's great. So much so that last year I started programming a virtual velodrome but the project got cut short. Gamification is a very good motivational tool!

pakora
10-02-2014, 12:33 PM
wow

I will so sign up day one.

denapista
10-02-2014, 12:57 PM
Not that we really have winters in LA, but if it's raining I'd rather go to the gym and do core strengthen exercises versus spinning my brains out in my living room.

Sometimes not riding a bike is a good thing. I guess it's a racing thing I'll never quite understand, as I don't race just recreational riding. Sitting on rollers for hours on end, sounds agonizing to me. Again, in LA our winters are when the temps drop to the 60's.

pakora
10-02-2014, 01:05 PM
It is agonizing, but combine some cyclist self-loathing (i.e. velominati), some general self-loathing (I know many hardcore riders who are rails and identified as overweight or obese kids or young adults, myself included minus the rail part) and 90 minutes of grindcore and you have a winning combination.