PDA

View Full Version : CX poll: glue or glue+tape

sparky33
09-29-2014, 09:15 AM
For cyclocross tubulars, do you glue or glue+tape?

I'm relatively new to cx tubs and had to I replace a tire that was glue+taped. What a royal pain to remove and clean-up!!! I curse that tape.
I'm thinking I could get away with a cross specific rim like a Major Tom and a few layers of glue - no tape. I'm not huge, and I'm racing a just few times a season.
From what I can tell adding tape is really just for building up a rim bed that is not ideally shaped for a wide tubular. Am I crazy?

BSUdude
09-29-2014, 09:32 AM
I use glue only. Have yet to roll a tire in 3 years. Probably will this weekend after saying this.

illuminaught
09-29-2014, 09:32 AM
I just use glue. Three dry layers on both rim and base tape... Then one wet bonding layer when mounting.

bcroslin
09-29-2014, 09:36 AM
Glue but if you really don't want your tires to come off use tape as well.

Don't do what I've seen a few people do and just use the tape. I have no idea where that idea came from but boy does it not work.

nooneline
09-29-2014, 10:41 AM
Glue only. If it's good enough for Stybar...

crankles
09-29-2014, 10:42 AM
CX... Glue + tape.

trust me, if you ride aggressively and run sub 30 psi at times, tape is your friend.

oldpotatoe
09-29-2014, 12:31 PM
I just use glue. Three dry layers on both rim and base tape... Then one wet bonding layer when mounting.

Glue only just like above.

FGC
09-29-2014, 12:59 PM
Glue only. I regularly run below 30psi and haven't rolled a tire.

PoppaWheelie
09-29-2014, 02:04 PM
I just glue. But my go-to OCD oxygen-depraved mid-race distraction is always focused on rolling a tire. I may go back to tape just to take that off the menu.

brando
09-29-2014, 02:49 PM
glue + tape and I do it myself. Let a shop glue once and rolled on the first ride. Never again!

Brian Cdn
09-29-2014, 04:25 PM

Before there was tape, there was ... Glue
Ditto on the above.. it works !

Dr Luxurious