PDA

View Full Version : Fixies/Single Speeds

cd_davis
09-21-2014, 09:05 AM
Would appreciate some guidance from you sages. The middle age guys I ride with are purchasing fixies/single speed as an alternate bike for around town or for the slower casual group rides. They speak of a training/fitness benefit.
I'm intrigued by the idea of having one. There is a wide assortment of brands from $200 up and many are always for sale on eBay or Craigslist.
For my road bikes I usually find a deal on a frame and build the bike as a project.
So the question is what is the best approach: (1) buy a mass market $200-400 ride or (2) source a frame and parts and do a custom build? I've got extra headsets, seats, seatposts, bar tape, tires and tubes, small parts. But I have no experience on which cranksets, wheels, brakes or chains to consider for a custom fixie/single speed build. Do you also size the frame like a road bike?
So I would appreciate any thoughts or advice from the group. In my research on complete bikes, I really love the Bianchi Chrome Pista ~$800.
Thanks in advance...

witcombusa
09-21-2014, 09:10 AM
Please don't group them together, two completely different animals.

fiataccompli
09-21-2014, 09:30 AM
I have a rather nice 'fixie' built from a converted 80s road bike using an inexpensive track wheelset. In my opinion it is much nicer than the new bike offerings and if considering selling off the unused parts from the bike it was well under 250 bucks to build. On the other hand, I routinely find slightly uses fixie/SS bikes on Craigslist for well under that price. .an option that lets you avoid figuring out the chain line, but nets you a slightly heavier and less interesting ride.

Oh, and while SS and fixie/track are two vastly different things, market wise they are lumped together so I'd say it's a practical though perhaps misleading grouping.

thirdgenbird
09-21-2014, 09:32 AM
Size it just like your road bike.