PDA

View Full Version : So if I go with a compact crank . . .

jwb96
03-08-2006, 08:50 PM
Looking for some input on what crank I might go with. To be used with an otherwise DA 9-speed set up. Obviously some are advertising they don't need a compact-specific front derailleur. Then there's the issue of the bottom bracket. Some are available with Shimano Octalink, others ISIS, and others the new-style outboard bearings. Although I read somewhere recently (but can't remember where) an off-hand, unsubstantiated comment that the outboard bearing design, although stiffer, is less durable. Anything to that? Running all-Shimano up to this point, I have no experience with other bb's. Is there any advantage of using ISIS over Shimano?

Anyway, general experiences with compact cranks would be welcome - it seems there are plenty of choices out there.

Thanks,
Jim

nobrakes
03-08-2006, 09:38 PM
I've been using Campy Record Compact since last summer. It seemed like a mistake, at first, but now I love it. 34X50 and 11-23 cassette is very close to highs and lows of previous 12-25 and 39X53. I like 11-21 on less hilly and less than 100 mile rides. 34X23 is more than low enough for any long, hilly day. 11-25 would be good for Alpe Huez type riding, imho.

Louis
03-08-2006, 09:55 PM
JWB,

I don't have a compact double, but have given it some thought. I suggest that you think long and hard not just about the total range that a given crank-cassette combo will give you, but also about where you spend most of your time on typical rides.