PDA

View Full Version : Spoke noise/twang... Safe to ride?

xia_ke
09-09-2014, 09:31 AM
I've been lurking here for a little while now and have learned a lot from reading older posts. However, I have a question that I can't seem to find the answer to by searching older posts. I have a 2013 Scott Speedster 20 and just bought a "new" wheelset. I picked up a set of Syncros RP1.5's from someone upgrading their Addict. The wheels needed to be tensioned so I dropped them off at my LBS and last night was my first ride on them. Right away I noticed a bit of twang from the spokes. I've never had this happen on other wheelsets, though I am a newb so my experience is very limited. I read a review somewhere a while ago on the Addict 10 where someone commented about wheel twang for heavier riders. At 180lbs I hadn't really thought of myself as heavy, though I know I can afford to drop a few more pounds. I ended up cutting my ride short before I hit the rougher roads (I live in Maine). Should I be worried about riding these wheels? Thanks in advance for any advice.

AustinHorse
09-09-2014, 09:38 AM
assuming it's more of a ping and hasn't recurred too frequently since your initial ride that's pretty typical after truing for any weight rider. the spokes twist a little in the truing process; they're just untwisting. worth checking to see there are no new tension or truing issues though.

xia_ke
09-09-2014, 09:43 AM
Hi AH,

Thanks for the quick response. I double checked twice while I was on my ride and also when I got home. The wheels are perfectly true and all spokes still feel evenly tensioned. I only ended up doing a little over 13 miles on my ride. While I did notice the spoke noise decreased over the course of the ride, it was still happening a little at the end of the ride.

oldpotatoe
09-09-2014, 09:43 AM