PDA

View Full Version : high spoke count...

spokelacer
08-31-2014, 08:32 PM
Hi folks, curious for some opinions:

I am a competent wheel builder who has always been told that higher spoke count wheels do not benefit from bladed spokes. I have just finished a 36 spoke set for my tandem and was quite surprised as to much smoother and faster they feel.
The old set: Mavic 261, DT champion spokes, Hugi hub
The new set: Velocity Aeroheat, Sapim CX-Ray, White industries M16 tandem disk

Front: The same but with Sapims (both White industries and velocity rim.

True, the set lost about three quarters of a pound in the rear, but over 20mph it just seems to fly.
So it seems that bladed spoke really matter?
Just looking for opinions....
Thanks!

1centaur
08-31-2014, 08:54 PM
Not a wheelbuilder, but I have always heard higher spoke counts are aero pigs so logically I'd think bladed spokes would be MORE effective in that setting, relatively. I suppose in a wind tunnel one might find dirty air effects if the spokes are too close together, but...

spokelacer
08-31-2014, 09:05 PM
I like that idea, I have heard that too about so much disturbed air. Of course, the smooth ride also may contribute to the feelings of speed. Still, the cyclometer showed high numbers. Thanks for your comment.

Not a wheelbuilder, but I have always heard higher spoke counts are aero pigs so logically I'd think bladed spokes would be MORE effective in that setting, relatively. I suppose in a wind tunnel one might find dirty air effects if the spokes are too close together, but...

oldpotatoe
09-01-2014, 05:55 AM
Hi folks, curious for some opinions:

I am a competent wheel builder who has always been told that higher spoke count wheels do not benefit from bladed spokes. I have just finished a 36 spoke set for my tandem and was quite surprised as to much smoother and faster they feel.
The old set: Mavic 261, DT champion spokes, Hugi hub