PDA

View Full Version : costco auto purchase program

alancw3
03-05-2006, 03:04 PM
i was in costco yesterday and picked up a flyer on their auto purchase program, thinking about buying a honda odyssey to cart my bikes around. has anyone ever used their program and if so was it worth while. supposedly they assign you to a dealer in your area and a contact person in the dealership that provides the dealer invoice and costco member price. just thought it might be an easier way to purchase an automobile.

huey
03-05-2006, 08:42 PM
I have no experience with the Costco purchase program. However, I do work in the automotive industry and am a car nut. The absolute easiest way to buy a car in through the internet. Send an e-mail out to all of your local dealers telling them what model, trim, color etc... that you want. Negotiate the bottom line price, which should be no more than $100-$200 over dealer invoice. Then negotiate your trade in. It is this simple. If you have any further questions please let me know.

Brad

malcolm
03-05-2006, 08:52 PM
I agree with the internet suggestion. Before you contact them research it at edmunds.com or something similar.

cookieguy
03-05-2006, 09:23 PM
USAA's auto purchase program is painless.... Price was some nominal amout above the so called dealer cost... I dealt with the fleet manager (GM), straight up business deal without the usual nonsense....

Don't get me going about Toyota dealers....I came in as a cash customer and their "closer" kept insisting on trying to sell me "value packs"...I had a certain amount of glee telling him that if he opened his mouth again I'd walk....amazingly effective

Lanternrouge
03-05-2006, 10:00 PM