PDA

View Full Version : help me build a townie!

yeehawfactor
03-04-2006, 10:24 PM
i traded handlebars for a falcon built molteni merckx frameset. pretty snazzy. anyhow, i'm looking to turn it into a sweet townie commuter bike. as a poor college student i can't trick it out as i'd like with paul brakes and sweet wooden fenders and the like, but i still want to commute with class on a bike that will win the hearts of ladies everywhere. i need gears, as i'm in the high mountains of boone and campus is fairly hilly. i've been commuting on a surly 1x1, which has yielded good times. inspite of my love of the surly, i am now a man, and one of refined tastes, dapper appearance, natty dress, and exquisite choice in cycling equipment at that. the merckx will be the commuter. the frame has no shifter bosses, so would classy be stem mounted friction shifters or some form of bar mounted friction? how about fenders? i like the planet bike fenders ok, but i understand that they may not be long enough up front. surely there is a more elegant option out there. also, am i bound by the lore of cycling to run moustache bars?

Ray
03-05-2006, 05:57 AM