PDA

View Full Version : Stem angle and bar height question

pakora
08-20-2014, 07:31 PM
Setting up the old cross bike, and whether it's losing a bit of the ol' midsection or throwing down in some crits this year, my bar height on my race bike feels high, so I'm going to experiment with height a bit.

Since I have a 6 degree stem flipped up, it occurs to me that I can microadjust reach and height a bit by messing with spacers and whether the stem is flipped up or down.

Is there a functional difference for flipped up or down, assuming the same bar height? Something something mechanical advantage? Or perhaps something something leverage something something?

I'm guessing not, besides making my opponents shudder and fear for the 39th place they thought they had in the bag when they see my stem flipped down and spacers on top of it.

The stem is 140mm and there's 20mm of spacers below it currently (maxing out bar height on this fork) above a 175mm ht if that matters.

rnhood
08-20-2014, 07:44 PM
Generally speaking, the steerer tube integrity is higher if you flip up the stem since there will be less spacers.

The more spacers, the more lever arm which means less force to the bars or stem to damage (crack, break, etc) the steerer tube.

So to answer your question, flip the stem up. If you have to have the fashionable flipped down look, then its really not a concern since you are only using 20mm of spacers. I think most bike/frame vendors say 30mm is the max spacers allowed (on a carbon steerer tube). You are well under that.

ultraman6970
08-20-2014, 07:52 PM
The only difference i have noticed is handling, depends a lot of the rider too, some guys cant handle even riding in a colnago and those pretty much ride by themselves. If you slam the steering will get more solid anyways.