PDA

View Full Version : saddle issues...help

Climb01742
03-04-2006, 11:01 AM
i've been riding aliantes for 2 or 3 years now without a problem, ever, not even for a moment. my butt was one happy clam. but now that i've evolved into a new position on the bike, the happy clam has left the building. i've raised my saddle quite a bit and extended my reach. every other part of my body is very happy with my new position. it feels "right". everywhere except in the saddle. the main discomfort is in the (how do i tactfully put this?) area between the family jewels and the poop-shoot...that flatish area, you know. i don't know which way to turn, saddle wise. what shape to try. i've tried my last two rides to zero in on what was causing the discomfort but i can't say. it's just sore. and it's a saddle i moved over from another bike, so i know it was comfy before. and i tried one of my other aliantes, too...same sensation. my guess is that the higher saddle position has somehow shifted how i sit on the saddle. possibly requiring a different saddle shape? any ideas greatly appreciated.

Ken Robb
03-04-2006, 11:06 AM
try lowering the nose a wee bit.

keno
03-04-2006, 11:07 AM
perhaps a little experimentation with saddle tilt will help. I have found that very minor changes in tilt result in big differences in comfort.

keno

Kevin
03-04-2006, 11:20 AM
Climb,

I would go with the trial and error technique. Get a digital level and try tilting the saddle in 1 degree incriments until you find a happy spot. I would not go more than about 3 or 4 degrees in either direction.

Kevin

ergott
03-04-2006, 11:28 AM
area between the family jewels and the poop-shoot...

...known as the gooch FYI

Mud
03-04-2006, 11:38 AM