PDA

View Full Version : Are pro teams riding on ti

wc1934
08-09-2014, 06:31 PM
Reading all the threads about carbon vs. ti vs. steel got me thinking - are pro teams are riding ti - A quick guess would be that most are on carbon - If that assumption is correct, why so, and who is on ti?

joosttx
08-09-2014, 06:54 PM
Reading all the threads about carbon vs. ti vs. steel got me thinking - are pro teams are riding ti - A quick guess would be that most are on carbon - If that assumption is correct, why so, and who is on ti?

1) I am not a pro.
2) I get to choose the frame I ride
3) I want a light bomb proof frame

Admiral Ackbar
08-09-2014, 06:59 PM
its probably been close to a decade now since pros were on metal frames? i know boonen was on a special built alloy bike at the classics some years ago, but that had to be close to 10 years ago now..

thirdgenbird
08-09-2014, 07:01 PM
Some Rapha condor jlt riders were on steel last year.

ultraman6970
08-09-2014, 07:02 PM
The last dude racing in Ti that I know of was lance armstrong, he used a lightspeed ti TT bike repainted as trek. Besides that dont remember anybody riding titanium after that.

Remember lotto I believe was using Aluminum ridley bikes for the cobblestones. I believe BMC did the same at some point too.

wc1934
08-09-2014, 07:02 PM
1) I am not a pro.
2) I get to choose the frame I ride
3) I want a light bomb proof frame

Sorry, I did not phrase my question correctly - I was curious to know if any pro teams rode ti bikes, and if so which teams, and if not, why not.

thirdgenbird
08-09-2014, 07:05 PM
Wasn't the bianchi impulso (aluminum) used on the cobbles in the last few years?

Lance's litespeed was the last ti bike I can recall, but there could have been more after.

oldpotatoe
08-09-2014, 07:08 PM

Carbon 100%, win on Sunday, sell on Monday.....carbon cuz it's cheap to manufacture, with big margins, in spite of initial R&D and cost of molds.

jimoots
08-09-2014, 07:09 PM