PDA

View Full Version : Enve Stems, Why do people like them so much?

Shortsocks
08-02-2014, 01:00 PM
So Im confused about Enve Stems.

I understand why the Wheels cost so much, or even the forks.

But the Stems they are crazy expensive, Dont weigh that little, as opposed to some Alum Stems that cost way less and weigh less. I have no experience with them so Maybe some people here who have used them can inform me.

Ive used the Easton EC90Sl stem, Pro Vibe Stems, Zipp Stems, pretty much a guy who just likes trying out Stems, getting them piped and tuned it...and then try something else. But ENVE stems seem crazy expensive. Whats the deal with them? Are they stiffer than other stems? What gives? :confused:

pdmtong
08-02-2014, 01:08 PM
The most visible way to tell the world that $350 is pocket lint - enve and moots stems

It's the one place on the bike where something costing 10x less is as performant

It's all about the vibe aura look - Which in the case of both of the above is quite nice.

The price is reflective of brand premium but also fabrication complexity
With the moots there are plenty of tiny welds. With the enve it's just expensive to make a chunk of can't fail carbon

Most people with enve stems are on $10k+ machines. So $350-400 is proportionally a drop in the bucket
As the other guy said. Don't go all DSW with a bling-tastic bike

Joachim
08-02-2014, 01:13 PM
For me it's only aesthetics. An enve stem looks better with larger diameter tubes. A Ritchey WCS stem would've looked dinky on my Firefly.

CunegoFan
08-02-2014, 01:23 PM
But ENVE stems seem crazy expensive. Whats the deal with them? Are they stiffer than other stems? What gives? :confused:

It takes some serious R&D dollars to come up with decals as large and hideous as ENVE's.

krismac23
08-02-2014, 01:40 PM
"Rule #8
// Saddles, bars, and tires shall be carefully matched.3

Valid options are:

Match the saddle to the bars and the tires to black; or