PDA

View Full Version : How does the Thomson Masterpiece seatpost compare with a carbon seatpost?

yoshirider
07-31-2014, 11:27 AM
I'm having issues trying to get my saddle level (it's close but the nose is off by a few mm) with the stock carbon Canyon VCLS seatpost that came with my frame. I have a Thomson Masterpiece sitting in the parts box and it looks like I'll be able to level the saddle easily with it, but I'm hesitant to swap it in because I have no idea how comfortable it is. Does the Thomson Masterpiece dampen road vibration close enough to a carbon seatpost to make it a worthwhile swap?

pinoymamba
07-31-2014, 11:30 AM
if it's easier to adjust and get it to where you're most comfortable, i'd use it.

i doubt you'd be able to tell the difference...

i used an aluminum post on my canyon (syntace)

https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5484/10618444734_16013aa65c_z_d.jpg

kramnnim
07-31-2014, 11:34 AM
Might depend on how much seatpost is exposed...

You could go for a newer VCLS! http://cycletechreview.com/2013/reviews/canyon-vcls-post-2-0-seatpost/

07-31-2014, 11:48 AM
Seatposts can give you a little extra comfort, but tires and saddle are worth a lot more. You have to get the seat post right in order to have much benefit at all. By that I mean, you have to have enough exposed and you should have a narrower post diameter -- a 31.6 mm Thomson is a lot stiffer than a 27.2, naturally. A setback post has more play than a straight post. And having your saddle positioned so the post clamps mid-range in the rails makes the saddle more complaint than if you clamp it all the way forward or back.