PDA

View Full Version : Help putting a date on a Merckx frame

bren82
07-12-2014, 04:29 AM
I've just bought a beautiful Merckx Corsa frame in telekom colors.
Looked everywhere, but I can't seem to put a manufacturing year on it.
It's a Merckx corsa SL tubing, with hidden cable routing and the old Merckx logo. I'm attaching a couple of pictures.
Any idea what year this frame is?

paredown
07-12-2014, 07:12 AM
My old eyes can't make out the BB numbers, but this should get you started:

http://www.cadre.org/Merckx/

I've heard that it is not 100%, but I am not a Merckx expert...

christian
07-12-2014, 07:21 AM
91-92. Nice rig.

oldpotatoe
07-12-2014, 08:11 AM
I've just bought a beautiful Merckx Corsa frame in telekom colors.
Looked everywhere, but I can't seem to put a manufacturing year on it.
It's a Merckx corsa SL tubing, with hidden cable routing and the old Merckx logo. I'm attaching a couple of pictures.
Any idea what year this frame is?

I would say mid, late 80s..braze on FD tab but single bottle mount..

BUT Merckx's had not a whole bunch of consistency sometimes..also depended on what market it was destined for.

christian
07-12-2014, 08:34 AM
Team Telekom was created in 91; before that it was Stuttgart and used a different scheme. I think that color combo was only used on team bikes in 91, but with the new script. I agree this bike is a very very early Telekom replica.

christian
07-12-2014, 08:43 AM
And FWIW, in the 92 catalog, the Century has internal routing, but the Corsa has 12 o'clock mounts, a braze-on fd tab, and what looks like single bottle bosses.

Speaks both to inconsistency of production... And that the details of this bike align to 91-92.

rccardr
07-12-2014, 09:23 AM
Pretty much agree, but could be as late a 93 given the entry point for The TT cable routing; earlier hidden guides were closer to 12 O'clock if I recall correctly.