PDA

View Full Version : high quality 2-piece 160mm rotor recommendation?

wallymann
07-11-2014, 02:50 PM
i bought what i presumed to be a premium sram/avid rotor, the XX.
but it's got a sine-wave in that i cant for the life of me get out. it's INFURIATING.

http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/NzU2WDU2Nw==/z/ZBoAAOSw8lBToSEn/$_12.JPG

so i'm looking for a recommendation for a 2-piece 160mm rotor that will be straight and true RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX. just like my powertap disc rotor. straight.

mcallen
07-11-2014, 03:02 PM
That sounds infuriating. I'm new to disc brakes--what's the advantage/appeal of two-piece versus one piece?

oldpotatoe
07-11-2014, 03:22 PM
i bought what i presumed to be a premium sram/avid rotor, the xx.
But it's got a sine-wave in that i cant for the life of me get out. It's infuriating.

http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/nzu2wdu2nw==/z/zboaaosw8lbtosen/$_12.jpg

so i'm looking for a recommendation for a 2-piece 160mm rotor that will be straight and true right out of the box. Just like my powertap disc rotor. Straight.

XT/XTR Icetech..the standard..

SRAM bent outta the box, imagine that.

45K10
07-11-2014, 03:40 PM
I have had these rotors on my bike for the past 4 months:
http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/us/en/s?q=clarks+floating+rotor+-+160mm

Teamed up with some nuke-proof pads the work great. Not sure if they are compatible with Avid brakes though.

wallymann
07-11-2014, 04:09 PM
...what's the advantage/appeal of two-piece versus one piece?

better potential to minimize squealing. 2-piece rotors generally have a stiffer aluminum carrier along with the riveted interface between the rotor and carrier that change the harmonics -- instead of 1 big homogenous plane of metal that's just waiting to harmonize and shriek, it's a stiff & somewhat complex structure.