PDA

View Full Version : Half OT: Motorcycle chain lube

AngryScientist
06-12-2014, 04:21 PM
as you all know i'm relatively new to the world of motorcycles.

i use home brew chain lube on my bicycle for years with no complaints, what should i be using on my much fatter motorcycle chain, same stuff or...

??

fuzzalow
06-12-2014, 04:53 PM
Nuthin' much if it is an O-ring chain. All the lubricant for the chain is sealed behind the o-ring to the links & rollers of the chain. Keep the chain clean to prevent dirt as an abrasive in wear compromising the o-ring sealing capacity. I clean the chain with a rag damp with kerosene.

If the chain isn't an o-ring, wait for it to wear out anf then get an o-ring chain.

Ken Robb
06-12-2014, 05:02 PM
Motorcycle chains turn faster so you really want a lube that is highly resistant to being flung off. On a modern street bike the chain will almost surely be and O-ring or X-ring design with the actual lubricant sealed inside the links. The reason I use spray-on "chain lube" is to prevent surface rust and keep the o-rings from drying out prematurely. I have 18,000 miles on the original chain on my Ducati and it is still fine. That is a record for me.

My method of applying the lube is NOT RECOMMENDED due to obvious risk but it works fine for me on my bike. I put the bike on the center stand with the engine idling. Then I slip it into first gear and carefully let out the clutch so I don't jiggle the bike and possibly make the spinning rear wheel contact the ground. Then I give the top of the chain a quick spray during a single revolution of the rear wheel. This give me uniform distribution and minimal waste of the lube. Not all bikes have enough ground clearance of the rear wheel when the bike is on the center stand and some that seem to have enough clearance will bounce and jiggle when you let the clutch out and run off the stand with a crash. You have been warned. :)

shovelhd
06-12-2014, 05:41 PM