PDA

View Full Version : Foot Soreness After Hours in the Saddle

Splash
06-12-2014, 03:51 PM
So, after the 2 hour mark on my 4 hour ride, my feet begin to hurt on the balls where they are mounted onto the cleat.

they do not hurt anywhere else.

any thoughts on how this soreness can be eliminated?

splash

tiretrax
06-12-2014, 03:53 PM
Search term "hotfoot"

dogdriver
06-12-2014, 03:58 PM
The rest of me usually hurts enough after two hours that I don't notice my feet. +1 the "hotfoot" search, I'll bet that you're about to buy a set of footbeds. I worked as a ski boot fitter for several years, and thus have a few pairs of ski boot "custom" insoles. These work great for me in bike shoes, but there are several brands of insoles that people like. At the extreme end, you could go to a podiatrist and have him twist you up a set of orthotics, but I doubt that you'll have to resort to that.

Ken Robb
06-12-2014, 05:07 PM
Try moving your cleats toward the heels of your shoes. This may relieve the concentration of pressure under the balls of your feet. It will also reduce pressure/fatigue of your calf muscles especially when you stand up to pedal.

This works for me. It might work for you. It costs nothing. :banana:

Splash
06-12-2014, 07:48 PM
Thanks boys.

How much space should be inside the shoe between the top of my foot and the underside of the top of the shoe - to achieve a comfort fit and minimise foot soreness?

Seems to be a fair bit inside my shoe.

Splash

christian
06-12-2014, 07:52 PM
Mount the cleat to your shoe! :eek:

regularguy412
06-12-2014, 08:03 PM
This is why I use 2 insoles in my shoes and get the shoes a half (European) size too big.

Mike in AR:beer:

donevwil
06-12-2014, 08:05 PM
Thanks boys.

How much space should be inside the shoe between the top of my foot and the underside of the top of the shoe - to achieve a comfort fit and minimise foot soreness?

Seems to be a fair bit inside my shoe.

Splash