PDA

View Full Version : Continental GP 4000 tires

Sandy
02-19-2006, 08:42 PM
Has anyone used the new Continental GP 4000 tires? I am considering using the 700X25 size. The reviews that I have read have been positive with the exception of one, in which the reviewer said they were really poor in the rain.

I would appreciate any input relative to these particular tires.

Sandy

Bill Bove
02-19-2006, 09:00 PM
I've been riding some 700x23's for a couple of months and I'd have to say that they are an improvement over the GP3K's. I have not pushed them to their limit on wet pavement yet though.

Lower rolling resistance? Si

Higher puncture resistence? Check

Longer wear? Around 2000 miles on 'em and those wear indicater holes are still showing

Sandy
02-19-2006, 10:53 PM
Thanks for your post, just the kind of info that I want.

Sandy

roadie7
02-20-2006, 04:42 AM
I was surprised to read that someone said the GP 4000's were poorly rated in the rain. The first ride after I had them, I was caught in a downpour and they held the road very well. In fact, I turned too quickly once and I stayed upright. I got them for their wear life and I'll let you know.

LegendRider
02-20-2006, 06:33 AM
I've had a set of GP 4000s for a couple of months now. So far, I've been extremely pleased. They corner well, they seem fast (low rolling resistance), I haven't punctured, they're wearing well and they don't show cuts from glass shards, etc. I'm so happy, in fact, that I'll switch to them permanently from the Michelins I've traditionally rode. No experience in the rain however.

scrooge
02-20-2006, 06:54 AM
Are the 25s "True" 25s, or more like 23s (as is apparently typical for conti)? Anyone know?

LegendRider
02-20-2006, 07:42 AM
The 23's measured true for what it's worth.

Headwinds
02-20-2006, 04:54 PM
Didn't I tell you that these tires are good?! :bike:

If it is wet and dangerous, just don't ride that bike man!

Sandy
02-20-2006, 05:30 PM
Russ.....Russeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!