PDA

View Full Version : Noisy Look pedals

bikemoore
06-06-2014, 11:47 AM
After many years of frustration with the creaking of Look pedals/cleats (I've been riding the Delta cleat models for 20+ years), I finally found the solution. It's not a maintenance-free solution, but it does work. I filed the burred edges of the cleats and also filed any surface where black rubber residue from the center black rubber bumper was visible. I didn't go crazy with the file thinking I was going to reshape the cleats. But as the cleats wear, the edges do get mashed and burred. Bits of rubber from the spacer/bumper also get ground into the plastic surface of the cleat. The noise that Look pedals are capable of putting out when cleats are just a few weeks old has driven me bonkers for years. The silence on my ride yesterday was SO nice. So, it looks like lighltly filing my cleats will have to done about as often as lubing my chain.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

oliver1850
06-06-2014, 12:02 PM
Good to know. I have a couple pair that click because of bearing wear, I assume the outer one. Anyone ever replace bearings in them?

stien
06-06-2014, 12:17 PM
I think people just replace the spindles that have the bearings attached. Mine was clicking and it was a cracked body so check it for that.

happycampyer
06-06-2014, 12:23 PM
I had not experienced squeaky pedals until recently, and Tim Porter introduced me to a solution that so far has been flawless—Team McLube SailKote. It's a dry lube that sailors use for everything including cooking spray (just kidding). Spray it on the contact points of the pedal and the cleat, let dry and then—silence. I've also been told that the bi-lam pedals (not the non-skid ones) are less susceptible to squeaking. SailKote is available at boating supply stores. It's like Frank's Hot Sauce—I put that [beep] on everything.

stien
06-06-2014, 12:31 PM
Yeah the carbon pedals are really quiet. And don't wear out because of the metal on the wear area.

djdj