PDA

View Full Version : powertap G3 review, 6 months later

pavel
05-21-2014, 11:50 AM
TL;DR version: great power meter, battery and bearings suck butt.

I bought my first power meter last october because the prices finally came down, had it built up to an a23, 32h, 2x because I was going to beat it up pretty good. It performed exactly as I expected, and I started training with power, which certainly helped me progress.

I rode the wheel almost daily through fall and (relatively dry northern california) winter. If I had to estimate, I'd say I put approximately 3000-4000 miles on it (judging by strava milage minus cross, track, crits and putz around recovery rides on a different bike).

1. The battery life: atrocious. G3 uses a small hearing aid kind of battery that lasts at the ABSOLUTE most 3 months of daily use. The first time my battery died was about a month in.

2. SW/FW: For whatever reason, the battery dying coincided with needing a firmware update. After replacing the battery in that first month, the unit would not work properly until I plugged it in and updated FW, which is another special pain in the ass because it never seems to work quite like you wanted to. Pain in the ass, but when all is said and done, it's fine and it works.

3. Crash resistance: At some point, I got rear-ended by some idiot sucking my wheel during his commute, who ran straight into me when I had to hit the brakes. He taco'd my wheel beyond repair, and left a pretty good scar where his tire rubbed agains the plastic shell of the hub. Cosmetically, a bit of a blemish, but the hub did not suffer and was rebuilt into yet another A23.

4. Bearings: Ugh. Sometime after the wheel being rebuilt (March) I had to pull the wheel to swap the cassette to put it on my 9 speed bike. The bearings felt rough. REALLY rough. I took off the cassette, pulled the freehub body. The freehub body bearings felt like they were pretty toasted. The hub bearings did not feel a whole lot better.