PDA

View Full Version : Ultra Torque BB/crank Installation Problem

pjmsj21
05-20-2014, 07:03 PM
Warning this is my first build. I have looked at the videos on line but am still having some difficulty with the bb/crank installation.

I have put anti-seize on the cups and screwed them into the bb. I then put the right crank into the cups and push in as hard as I can. I then to the same with the left crank along with the wavy washer.

I then align the cranks and screw in the bolt pretty hard but not to the 35nm torque. But in checking to see how the two spindles are engaging and I find that I have a fair amount of play between the two crank arms. In other words when I rotate one crank as if it was being pedaled, there is a fair amount of play between the two crank arms.

Am I just not torqueing the bolt enough? I am concerned that I might be forcing something that I shouldn't have to force that much to remove the play.

Thoughts or suggestions please?

Pat

jtakeda
05-20-2014, 07:06 PM
I think you're not tightening enough and the little teeth on the crank spindle aren't engaging.

Also did you take the c clip out first? That might be preventing the crank from engaging.

oldpotatoe
05-20-2014, 07:29 PM
Warning this is my first build. I have looked at the videos on line but am still having some difficulty with the bb/crank installation.

I have put anti-seize on the cups and screwed them into the bb. I then put the right crank into the cups and push in as hard as I can. I then to the same with the left crank along with the wavy washer.

I then align the cranks and screw in the bolt pretty hard but not to the 35nm torque. But in checking to see how the two spindles are engaging and I find that I have a fair amount of play between the two crank arms. In other words when I rotate one crank as if it was being pedaled, there is a fair amount of play between the two crank arms.